• Develop criteria and process for selection of districtwide staff and community partners annual Promise Awards and revise, if necessary.
  • Propose districtwide staff and community partners annual Promise Award recipients to the superintendent.

Committee Type:

  • The Promise Awards Advisory Group is approved to do specific annual work.


  • Each spring, the Promise Awards Advisory Group meets to set criteria for the annual Promise Awards and score nominees.

Committee Members:

  • Andrew Forhan, Communications Technician Specialist (Advisory Group Chair)
  • Jacqueline Brawley, Executive Director of Communications and Community Relations (ex-officio)
  • Sam Stapleton-Cousens, 鶹ý Family Partnership Program Kindergarten Teacher
  • Laura Murdzia, Happy Valley Elementary School Administrative Assistant
  • Rachel Roeder, Carl Cozier Elementary School Teacher
  • Kim Kirk, Sehome High School Social Studies Teacher/Dean of Students
  • Cristina Manterola, Family Liaison at Cordata and Shuksan
  • Chesed Reyes, Squalicum High School Paraeducator
  • Katie Owen, 鶹ý High School Athletic Trainer and Sports Medicine Teacher
  • Mike Finley, Fairhaven Middle School Teacher
  • Jim Hammett, Alderwood Elementary School Head Custodian
  • Colin Cushman, Sehome High School Activities & Athletics Coordinator
  • James Hayes, BPS Director of Activities and Athletics
  • Pam Pottle, Northern Heights Elementary School Principal
  • Nelly Schonborn, Birchwood Elementary School Spanish Teacher and Multilingual Learner Specialist
  • Jessica Sankey, Executive Director of Operations
  • Sonia Cole, Sehome High School Principal
  • Alyssa Johnson, Sehome, Wade King, Lowell, and 鶹ý Family Partnership Program School Nurse
  • Mandeep Kaur, Cordata Health Room Assistant
  • Betsy Rocks, Community Representative
  • Bob Nelson, Community Representative
  • Kate Wearn, Community Representative
  • Grace Munson, Community Representative
  • Laura Corker, Community Representative